Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Polar Bear

Source: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2013, Claudia Lewis, Plan C Initiative, Carlos L. de la Rosa, Catalina Island Conservancy,   "The Youth Guide to Biodiversity" 1st Edition (Chapter 12) Youth and United Nations Global Alliance. Reproduced with permission.

 Chapter 12. Verbatim.

In 1973, the governments of Canada, United States, Denmark, Norway and the USSR signed a treaty that recognised the responsibilities of the countries around the North Pole for the coordination of actions to protect polar bears. The Polar Bear Treaty (Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears, I.L.M. 13:13-18, January 1974) commits the countries who signed it to manage polar bear populations in accordance with sound conservation practices. It prohibits hunting, killing and capturing bears, except for limited purposes and by limited methods, and commits all parties to protect the ecosystems of polar bears, especially those areas where they den and feed, as well as migration corridors.

No comments:

Post a Comment